Thursday 13 April, Friday 14 April, Saturday 15 April

MOMO Festival 2023

Black Country, New Road

They released a Mercury Prize-nominated debut album in 2021, and one of the most appreciated independent albums of the year in 2022. After a change of line-up, the ever-changing six piece ensemble are reinventing themselves again chanting “BCNR Friends Forever”!

Coming from a compelling mix of post-punk, jazz and a variety of other influences, the band’s sound is constantly revolting around a unique chamber pop style.
Black Country, New Road is a band of extremely talented composers, performers and friends. Theirs is music that sparkles playing and experimenting together in a room or on a stage. At the moment, their live performances consist of completely new material, with lyrics written and sang by different members of the band, creating an extremely fresh experience, shifting day by day in content and emotional delivery.

As a stage for new artistic talents, MOMO kept an eye on Black Country, New Road for the past years: they were booked for April 2020, after their first singles and they participated to the online event MOMO Create & Perform in 2021.

After their change of line-up and the constant shift in tone of their music, it will be very exciting to host them as artist in residence for three days during MOMO Festival 2023. Being an ensemble used to improvise and compose together, the residency will allow them to explore and experiment even more into their sound! And it will allow the audience to catch a glimpse of how their inspiration takes shape, how their music evolves!

Also check