Motel Mozaique

Each year Motel Mozaïque organises several special cultural events such as the (inter)nationally respected Motel Mozaïque festival which offer a mix of pop music, dance, theatre and visual arts. At various indoor venues in Rotterdam distinctive programmes are presented. Motel Mozaïque showcases new and upcoming movements in different art disciplines, and the crossovers between.

Visitors are given the opportunity to stay the night in a playful, exciting way. Locations are turned into a real motel, where guests can sleep and an artist collective will take care of breakfast and other special items.

Motel Mozaïque was created during Rotterdam 2001, Cultural Capital of Europe. Initiator of the festival is Harry Hamelink. The editorial team scouts and invites artists and performers who show in their work, in addition to warmth and quality, that they are open minded. Also artists create beds in various places in the city and visitors are taken by guides to the program components that they themselves have not yet discovered.

Former guests

Damien Jurado, Marlon Williams, Protomartyr, Andray Day, Dario Tortorelli, De Dansers, The Notwist, Kate Tempest, Villagers, The Staves, Will Butler, Temples, Asgeir, Jungle, George Ezra, Kurt Vile, Wild Beasts, Larry Gus, Hauschka, Angel Olsen, Ivo Dimchev, Florentijn Hofman, Jaga Jazzist & Rotterdam Sinfonia, Soap&Skin, Patrick Watson, Django Django, Balthazar, Blaudzun, Fink, The Maccabees, Jose Gonzalez & Orchestra, Belle & Sebastian, James Blake, Lykke Li, Mumford & Sons, Ben Howard, James Vincent McMorrow, Band Of Horses, Angus & Julia Stone, The Gaslamp Killer, Mulatu Astatke, Fuck Buttons, Midlake, The Whitest Boy Alive, Fever Ray, Nico Muhly, dEUS, Trentemoller, Goldfrapp, Efterklang, CocoRosie, LCD Soundsystem, Scissor Sisters, Antony & The Johnsons, Will Oldham (Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy), Nancy Sinatra, Joanna Newsom, Arthur Lee, The Kills, Feist, The Libertines, Peaches, Carina Molier, Benji Reid, Zita Swoon, Abattoir Fermé, !!!, A Silver Mt. Zion, Kung Fu, PONI, Observatorium, Bliss, Madeleine Berkhemer, Michael Spencer Jones, Gotan Project, Múm, Sigurdur Gudmundsson, Emiliana Torrini, Atelier van Lieshout, Dré Wapenaar, Mogwai, Villanella / Hanneke Paauwe, The Veils, Amon Tobin, 2ManyDJ’s a.o. have been our guests in the first 16 years of Motel Mozaïque.